Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Demon Squad Book 1: Armageddon Bound by Tim Marquitz

Tim Marquitz webpage


Book Details from Amazon:

File Size: 3002 KB
Print Length: 219 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Tim Marquitz (July 13, 2012)
Publication Date: July 13, 2012
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
   


Blurb:

Half-devil and miles from anything resembling heroic, perpetual underdog Frank "Triggaltheron" Trigg is the last man standing against Armageddon.


As the favorite nephew of the Devil, Frank has led a troubled life, but he'd always had his uncle's influence to fall back on. Now, with God and Lucifer coming to terms and leaving existence to fend for itself, his once exalted status of Anti-Christ-to-be does little to endear him to the hordes of angels and demons running amok in the Godless world. 


With help from the members of DRAC, an organization of wizards, psychics, telepaths, and low-end supernatural beings, Frank must thwart the pro-Armageddon forces and rescue an angel in whose life rests the fate of humanity.


Better luck next time, humanity.


My Review:

Once again I’m coming in late with my review. I had received this copy from an earlier publishing, but that in no way diminishes the ride or the fun of finding a new favourite “hero.”

Frank “Triggaltheron” Trigg is an all-out lust-filled, sex-on-the-brain, somewhat arrogant Mike Hammerish equivalent demon. And he’s a hoot. Granted, I did get a little tired of his semi-constant horny-talk, there’s only so much one can take before it becomes a repetitive slowdown versus a character trait. But, author Time Marquitz pulled back just as I noted this repeating.

ARMAGEDDON BOUND is to be read by those who want escapism. Who are not looking for politeness or correctness in their reading. When I mention Mike Hammerish that’s the character I mean…someone who isn’t apologetic for being out and out male. Frank is rough around the edges, he is Lucifer’s nephew after all. His ex is a succubus. And he can’t keep his mind clean when talking with his “cousin” the angel Scarlett.

We’re also talking the feel of duelling old time mob families. Hey, so what if one side is supposed to be angels.

One point here, because I wasn’t able to read straight through, within hours or a day or two break, I did find myself losing track of characters. I wasn’t sure who was who or where they first showed up. Again, whether this is a situation brought on by how I was able to spend time reading or perhaps too many introductory characters in this first book of the series, I don’t know.

Which leads to me letting you know this is the first book of at least nine books, according to Amazon. Tim’s Amazon author page

I will be adding these books to my wish list as well as Tim’s other books. I’ve enjoyed the humour of ARMAGEDDON BOUND and look forward to discovering if this continues in Tim’s other books or what else I may find.

Thank Hell there’s more books!  I loved the ending line of this one.

Thanks, Tim.



Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Grave Keeper Book 2: Rage Against The Dying Light

Publisher Synergebooks
MARGARET MARR
 
Author of:


Book Blurb from Publisher:

From Grave Keeper: Rage Against the Dying Light...


   Not again.
   Clutching his left shoulder, he labored to push himself to an upright position. Blood seeped through his T-shirt, turned it bright red inch by inch, and soaked his hand.
   Crap. This better not be some idiot cleaning his gun while it’s still loaded.
   Pain exploded in his right thigh, and he howled in agony. Moisture leaked from the corner of his eyes as he panted, fighting to stay conscious. No. Not him. The victim.
   Black out, man. Black out if you want to survive. Play dead or he’ll shoot you until you are.
   Rush closed his eyes and tried to slow his breathing. His heart pounded hard enough to shake his entire body as it thumped in his ear, growing louder and louder until it drowned out all other sound.



 My Review:

Thoroughly love escaping into Margaret's imagination!

I'm still getting used to Rush. Still not sure I'm a fan of his...he's a tad rough around the edges, but that is what makes him interesting. Besides his connection to people in trouble. And, The Creepers...shhh, they're not too fond of that name.

Yes, the story is short and punched. Yes, I wish it was longer and a little more detailed. But, it's punched. It's a fast escape. It's funny where maybe it shouldn't be, but hey all Billy wanted was to get home, not shot.

I had fun reading Rage Against the Dying Light and that's what I want from a short read. Simple, take-me-away-and-let-me-forget fun. When finished I want to feel like I had the break I needed. And, I do.

Okay, so maybe I did scream...AHHHHHH, Margaret!! When I hit the tease about Rush's next victim. The fun thing about becoming cyber friends with an author, you can say that directly to them ;)

Enjoy!

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Why I read dark fiction/horror

My dad used to say, and I remember him saying his mom used to say this, that there is a heaven...must be a heaven...because where we are is hell.

Some didn't...won't...understand what the statement means, but I do. Yes, life is wonderful and there is so much to enjoy and think of as heavenly. However, there is also much darkness, cruelty, and hatred.

What interests me is the delving into that darkness...and it's not always cruel or hate-filled. The human mind is a living computer that needs no input to create and run its own programs. It just is. Each individual mind is uniquely wired. Take the same stimuli and present it to any number of people and see what you get. Sure, some may have similar reactions...even same reactions. Watch those who don't. Watch the ones who react in fear and the ones who react to that fear. Some of those will literally feed from it and others will absorb the experience and wait to expand on it.

Dark fiction allows us to safely play within the depths of humanity without hurting anybody. It allows us to explore the questions which society doesn't want us to ask...won't allow us to experiment and find our own answers.

Dark fiction also knows something made the bump in the night sound. Those shadows we see fleeing from the corner of our eye...something made them. Within every legend...historical or urban...there is something true.

I find dark fiction is the genre to think and know the what ifs.

Monday, December 10, 2012

BETTER OFF ALONE



By Yolanda Sfetsos

Publisher: Damnation Books

Genre: Horror
Sub Genre: Zombie
eBook ISBN: 9781615720514

Pages: eBook: 41
Starting Price:  $2.50

  


Blurb via Publisher’s website:


I’m coming 4U

Nell has been forced to leave the safety of her basement. As the dead chase her along the familiar streets of her suburb, she stumbles on a group of survivors who offer her shelter. But all she's concerned about is finding her way to Todd, the only person who's helped keep her sanity.

She intends to ask this group of survivors to help her save Todd from his predicament but changes her mind when she spies the sick and twisted way they ensure their safe existence.

My Review:


Yeah, this one is a little freaky, especially since I’ve been watching The Walking Dead. I’ve never really been into zombies…okay, the black magic ones I used to love watching in movies. The brain eating ones, okay I watched one or two movies, but they were campy.

Yolanda Sfetsos writes my nightmare. She’s taken the What Ifs of my middle of the night thoughts and turned them into a frenzy of I can’t stop reading. You know that feeling. When you know you’re reading faster and faster to reach the end simply because you HAVE to.

There’s no solution to Nell’s situation. All she can do is survive. Alone.

Ms. Sfetsos does make me wonder, though. In a world crisis of nightmaric proportions…are we better off alone? Where there may be strength in numbers, isn’t it always easiest to trust only yourself.

I don’t know when the best time would be to read Better Off Alone. Right before bed and you’re sure to not have a pleasant sleep…unless dreaming of zombies, well, let’s not go there. On the bus or train to work/school, try to not scream out loud. At work or school, don’t let them see you shudder, might send strange looks your way (more strange looks?). Not while eating, no that’s not a good idea.

Hmm, guess you’ll have to take your chances…just like Nell.

                                  




Material provided by the publisher in exchange for my impartial review

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Grave Keeper Book 1: Dark of the Moon


By Margaret Marr

Publisher: SynergEbooks
Genre: Paranormal
ISBN: 0-7443-1734-7

Pages: eBook:
Starting Price:  $7.98

 





Excerpt via publisher’s website:

As sudden pain shot through his ribs and one of his wrists grave keeper Rush jerked awake. He tumbled out of bed and landed on his knees with a teeth-rattling jolt.

Disoriented, a sour taste in his mouth and a rapid heartbeat, he crawled toward the window, and then back to the bed. He clutched at the ratty, block quilt that barely kept him warm at night, and fought back the acrid taste of vomit. As he tried to pull himself up, pain burst through his side, and he clung to the quilt, panting.

A vision of a terrified young girl racing through dark trees flashed across his mind.

“Jesus, someone’s in bad trouble.”


My Review:

You’ll have to trust me that I do like this book. Really, I do. It’s different, almost a little awkward because it surrounds a couple of average people going about their plain day-to-day lives. Think of those you see when you walk into your local coffee shop. Everyone is there semi-locked in their thoughts, some interact with small talk, and some sit and mind their own business. You’d never know who’s bored and who’s writing you into their next novel.

Here we have Brody and Helena…each knowing the other and passing time without much more pushing them together. Bring in Rush and life turns on its head and everyone’s in a race against time and death. Who knew the local grave keeper was a psychic. Since coming home from Iraq he’s felt others’ pain. Will his connection to a young woman save her or just find her?

All this within roughly fifty-three electronic pages. A simple straightforward quick read and yet writing this review has haunted me.

Ms. Marr has started a series with an unlikely character…a grave keeper. She’s thrown me into upfront action and I found myself racing to catch up. And like Brody and Helena, I’m trying to figure out Rush and everything as if I’m the one hurrying to save the girl. There’s little time to know if I believe Rush or if I even like the characters, I’m learning about them purely through their story actions and nothing extra.

It works for me. Every time I think of Grave Keeper: Dark of the Moon, my head spins and I wonder what’s happening with Rush.

Yes, this most certainly works for me.




Material provided by the author in exchange for my impartial review

Friday, December 7, 2012

FULL WOLF MOON BOOK 2: BITTEN

By K.L. Nappier


Also on Apple, Sony, Diesel and Kobo.
K.L.Nappier on Amazon

And for people whose local libraries have ebook lending, some of Ms. Nappier’s books are available through SmashWords’ Library Direct program:  They should ask if their libraries are in that program.


Pages: 301
Genre: Supernatural Thriller

Blurb via author’s website: http://www.klnappier.com/id2.html



In this action packed sequel to award winning "Full Wolf Moon," the boom times of post World War II have arrived ... as the ancient Incarnation of Fear slaughters and feeds with evermore speed. The Second World War may have ended, but the battle against the Beast rages on. Eight years after Maxwell Pierce’s return to humanity, he and David Alma Curar stalk and destroy the pervasive werewolf where ever and whenever they can, a pursuit that takes them over national borders, land and sea.
But nothing they have experienced before can prepare them for where this journey leads them.


My Review:

Well I sure didn’t expect this sequel.

Okay, rephrase. I didn’t expect Ms. Nappier to take the story in these directions and boy oh boy what surprises. I had thought_____. Okay, that won’t work, will it. No matter what I say I’ll end up giving something away, even if this review is a tad late in arriving. There are always new readers to be discovered.

And that’s what I like about this sequel. Not only did Ms. Nappier set her werewolf story during a time most wouldn’t think about using for this genre, but she didn’t follow the assumed sequel path. (Don’t think that gives too much away). She still has her mix of characters, those you wouldn’t think of being friends. There is still the survival instinct of both human and beast. The internal battle to be won.

I have to admit, I was shocked over a certain kill. Could feel my eyes widen and I did shake my head over one twist. Another piece of this pie sets up a conflict the blurb’s last line words perfectly. In the end, I just don’t know…no, I do know. Ms. Nappier’s Full Wolf Moon world is stronger without it’s full on happy ending. It’s stronger for having an author who dares to follow the truth of her characters and tale.

I know I will miss reading about David. I never thought I would miss Max and Doris. No, I’m not giving anything away, just revisiting with fictional friends.

Hope you enjoyed reading Ms. Nappier and if you haven’t yet, please say hi to David, Max, and Doris for me.






Material provided by the author in exchange for my impartial review